How to really delete buddies and groups?

Matthew Jones matshakesjones at gmail.com
Wed Oct 17 21:58:29 EDT 2012


hey, Ive got a question linked to this. I removed someone from my chat list
the other day by mistake - I was playing around with my contacts because I
wanted to clear a few names.

When I went to my gmail I noticed that the person's picture as well as
appearance in chat had gone. I went to the contact information and noticed
that it said "invite to chat". Am a little confused about whats happened.
If I re-add them to pidgin will they be notified? Essentially it is a
friend I fell out with recently and Im trying to give them space but am
concerned Ive contacted them against their wishes.

On Thu, Oct 18, 2012 at 9:02 AM, Mark Doliner <mark at kingant.net> wrote:

> Sometimes this happens when using a Jabber/XMPP account where your
> buddy list is managed by the server and the server forbids changes.
> Could that be the case?
>
> You could also open Help-->Debug Window, try deleting stuff, then look
> for hints as to what may be wrong.
>
> _______________________________________________
> Support at pidgin.im mailing list
> Want to unsubscribe?  Use this link:
> http://pidgin.im/cgi-bin/mailman/listinfo/support
>
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://pidgin.im/pipermail/support/attachments/20121018/a9635141/attachment.html>


More information about the Support mailing list