Licq History converter to Pidgin Logs

Johann Glaser Johann.Glaser at gmx.at
Sun Nov 8 17:44:16 EST 2009


Hi!

Am Sonntag, den 08.11.2009, 14:56 -0600 schrieb Richard Laager:
> On Sun, 2009-11-08 at 21:03 +0100, Johann Glaser wrote:
> > Is it true that in this case every added contact requires a new
> > confirmation of "acceptance" by him?
> 
> I'm not sure. I don't think I've touched that part of the code. You'll
> just have to look and see, or wait for someone else to jump in with an
> answer. 

Some time ago I tried to add a user which was in the Licq-client-list to
Pidgin (which used the server list). At this time a new authorization
request was necessary. I guess the ICQ servers require this
authorization if you add a user to the server-list.

> > Why does Pidgin at all silently (at least for 99% of all users, who
> > don't read the output of --debug) delete buddies?
> 
> AFAIK, it's *respecting* the list from the server. This ensures that if
> someone makes changes using another client (possibly on another
> machine), their changes are reflected in Pidgin. I think our MSN plugin
> still prompts users for any discrepancies.
>
> FWIW, your same "99% of all users" aren't going to be manually editing
> the blist.xml file. ;)

Hehe, yes. The changed-by-other-client reason was clear. But what if due
to another reason some users vanish? Hmm, probably ICQ clients now
always rely on the server list.

Bye
  Hansi




More information about the Support mailing list