Pidgin Privacy options

Evan Platt evan at espphotography.com
Fri Sep 5 14:50:41 EDT 2008


That doesn't sound like the defaults to me.

As a matter of fact, ICQ will not allow Black All users. If you set that 
as your privacy setting, it will be lost the next time you change your 
status (ie away to available).

As to whether a block option actually prevents someone else from seeing 
you depends on the protocol. But I believe for the most part, yes.


chris wrote:
> Hello,
>
> I'm trying to understand the meaning of the Privacy options dialog
> (Pidgin 2.5.0 from getdeb.net).
>
> I assume each option is probably has slightly different meanings for
> each protocol.
>
> 1. Allow all users to contact me
> 2. Allow only the users on my buddy list
> 3. Allow only the users below
> 4. Block all users
> 5. Block only the users below.
>
> I use the following protocols: AIM, ICQ, IRC, MSN, XMPP
>
> For each protocol, the following is selected by default (I have not
> modified them):
>
> AIM: #4
> ICQ: #4
> IRC: #1
> MSN: #3
> XMPP: #1
>
> So my questions are:
>
> 1) What determined which option would be the default for each protocol?
> 2) Why were they not all the same by default?
> 3) How did the list for MSN get populated, why did it not instead
> default to #2?  Is there a difference?
> 4) What do these options actually do?  Do they only prevent people from
> sending me a message, or does it block them from seeing my online status
> as well?  Does it block people from sending me authorization requests?
>
> I've looked for a descriptive explanation of the Privacy options as they
> relate to each protocol and in general, but I was not able to find such
> a description.
>
> I look forward to understanding the answer to at least some of these
> questions.
>
> Regards,
> chris
>
> _______________________________________________
> Support mailing list
> Support at pidgin.im
> http://pidgin.im/cgi-bin/mailman/listinfo/support
>
>   



More information about the Support mailing list